London, Bikes, Nudes. Ah yes, it’s Saturday afternoon…

Now if I were in Germany I would expect this sort of thing. After all, the English Gardens in Munich is a traditional nudist spot, and a fine place for a beer too, of course. But in the middle of London…, just next to the Tower…, on bikes… It’s all a bit…, shocking!

IMG_3834

I was in town to take photographs of something completely different, and I heard a commotion – drums, whistles and so on, (this girl was having a good blast on hers…), and of course I wandered over to see what was going on.

IMG_3829

A demo, no less, and for some reason everyone was naked. It was raining, of course. But that didn’t put them off. Hey, if you’re going to get wet it’s better to have your kit off, I say! And it didn’t dampen anyone’s enthusiasm, because we’re British and we are used to the rain anyway.

tandem_small

This guy at the front of this tandem was rather half-hearted in my view. His rear companion had got the idea – shoulders covered, balls out.

IMG_3842

Bloody hell – here’s Eve looking for Adam! You can tell it’s a bit nippy though… I never did work out the link between bikes and nudism. And I don’t really see a logical link. It all feels a bit uncomfortable to me. Just like this chap below. I leave you with his bag metaphor, which sort of summed up a typical Saturday afternoon in London town…

IMG_3847

 

 


2 responses to “London, Bikes, Nudes. Ah yes, it’s Saturday afternoon…

  • Mike

    Love the second one best, the blue whistle and the look on her face, the angle of the photo and the general chaos of the composition seems to capture the event. The last one looks painful.

  • thebritishberliner

    OMG! In England of all places! And it’s raining and obviously pretty nippy (excuse the pun)!

    But you’re right, in Germany, it’s all rather natural and very ” why-make-a-big-deal-over-something-that-is-very-natural” type of thing!

    I once went to a nudist beach near Dresden in East Germany, and there were families, and children and old age pensoners, and everything. But I just couldn’t get myself to “let it all go”.

    The worst part? I was worried that people would “look” so I didn’t want to strip down to my birthday suit, but I was wearing a bright yellow bikini and I’m dark-skinned, so absolutely, everyone could see me!

    Yikes!

Leave a Reply

