Fog and Ashes at York Minster

 

I know I keep showing pictures of York, and particularly the Minster. A bit repetitive maybe? Apologies, but it does repay the revisit. It’s one of those places I can’t leave alone. Well, I did grow up here, the roots go deep.

Minster in Fog1

 

I left York at 18. The day before I left a new Bishop had been consecrated in the Minster. He had questioned the literal truth of the Virgin Birth and that night a storm raged over the city, lightning struck the South Transept and the roof was engulfed in fire. That morning, as I made to leave I went to have a look at the ruins. Charred wood smouldered a metre thick on the floor. The papers wrote of the Wrath Of God. I turned my back.

Minster in Fog4

 

These are not images of smoky hellfire and damnation cursing the unfortunate Bishop’s apostasy. Merely a bit of fog early on an October morning. Makes everything look a bit eerie though…

 

Minster in Fog5

 

Minster in Fog6

 

I don’t turn my back anymore. And I love how beautiful the Minster looks. No ashes here. And no idea what happened to the Bishop…

Minster in Fog7

 

http://www.yorkmix.com/life/history/how-the-york-minster-fire-sparked-an-unholy-row-in-the-times/


2 responses to “Fog and Ashes at York Minster

  • Sandy Weir

    Hi Tom

    I don’t know about your Bishop and some may not wish to hear my thoughts on the evils of religion wrought on humanity over the centuries but these are lovely images of man’s creativity; and are a reminder that fog (and mist) can be a very useful aid to composition in that it isolates the subject from perhaps an un-wanted background.

Leave a Reply

