Embarrassing your kids is character building – for them.

Here’s a truism – your parents are embarrassing. But why? I guess the last thing you want as a teen working at your first summer job (looking after the pedalos on the Serpentine) is your Dad turning up waving an iPhone camera in your face… Not that my son’s acute embarrassment was going to stop me…

Oh God, it's Dad...!

Oh God, it’s Dad…!

 

Even worse than that I went to pick up my daughter from one of the many parties she seems to be going to at the moment and made the fatal mistake of actually walking into the party to find her! Such was her distress at my presence she sent me out & I had to wait in the car.

too cool to be seen with Dad

too cool to be seen with Dad

14 going on 24...

14 going on 24…

 

I’m sure I didn’t treat my parents this way. Mind you, they didn’t taxi me around all over the place. I had to get on my bike…, which did mean they never could keep tabs on me.

So as long as I remain chauffeur, my kids will have to continue to suffer me. It’ll do them good, I’m sure. Character building…

The sceptical look...

The sceptical look…


10 responses to “Embarrassing your kids is character building – for them.

Leave a Reply

