Whistle-stop France

I have to say, I do love France, I do, I do, I DO. I love the life, the style, the lifestyle. I love the people, the countryside and the weather. The love fails me, however, as soon as I get to the traffic (taxi strikes all over the place!). And, although it shocks me slightly to say this, the bistrot/restau food can be a bit indifferent. Blimey, I had to pause and reconsider when I wrote that sentence, but its true!

Banks of the Saone

Lovers on the banks of the Saone

 

Admittedly a whistle-stop business tour isn’t the best way to see everything. But good for snippets. Lyon is just delightful. How a big city should be. Lovers on the banks of the rivers. Marseille has vibrant character – a pastis in the Vieux Port and you can still hear Pagnol in the background.

Vieux Port view

Vieux Port view

Masts in the water

Masts in the water

 

Nantes is my favourite. Especially here at Le Chateau de la Garnison, an idyllic escape from the big city, wonderful service, lovely country-chic rooms, and the best breakfast I’ve had for years. So idyllic we had to have a ping pong tournament (…) Here are the other two battling it out for second place.

Chateau de la Garnison

Chateau de la Garnison

Second and third place wiff waffers

Second and third place wiff waffers

And then Paris. Where the traffic doesn’t move until about midnight, and I had to lots of iPhone trickery to get some perception of speed… And the food is indifferent and expensive. Rip off wine and cheeky service.

A blur, after midnight.

A blur, after midnight.

Go taxi, go...., please go!

Go taxi, go…., please go!

 

Ooops, the Opera looks like it’s falling down. Get me back to Nantes, double quick!

 

Wobble photo

Wobble photo

 

Like France? Check out wine in the Dordogne or champagne in Champagne and if you’re not bothered by booze, how about scorpions in the Luberon!


9 responses to “Whistle-stop France

  • Tim Nuthall

    Lovely pics. When are you coming to Brussels for some Art Nouveau and Deco shots?!

    From: Thomas Peck Photos <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Thomas Peck Photos <comment+egx19p7b–osmycchgxhtp-@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 2:42 PM To: Tim Nuthall <tim.nuthall@europeanclimate.org> Subject: [New post] Whistle-stop France

    thomas peck posted: “I have to say, I do love France, I do, I do, I DO. I love the life, the style, the lifestyle. I love the people, the countryside and the weather. The love fails me, however, as soon as I get to the traffic (taxi strikes all over the place!). And, although”

  • patricknicholas

    I agree with all your points but I would add that a major charm is France’s bigness …………and emptiness, twice the size of the UK, but with about the same population.
    Love the speedy wing mirror even if its an app.

  • thebritishberliner

    I love France and your photos. I was there on a press trip last year. I was the only Brit in our merry troop the rest being German & French so you knew that both the service and the nosh would be exquisite. And it was!

    p.s. That chateau looks pretty nice as I’ve been thinking of joining the British side of the family with the German one and meeting up in France. Probably next year though as they’re coming to us in the summer. Do you think that the house would be suitable for 4 children under 14 and 14 adults who are not LOL!

Leave a Reply

