Utah rocks!

A few of my posts recently have focused on rocks. They’re just endlessly fascinating. Maybe I missed my vocation and should have been a geologist… I make no apology for my obsession. Here are some more pics, from Utah:

 

One of the Mittens, Monument Valley

One of the Mittens, Monument Valley

 

Everyone knows Monument Valley, and mighty impressive it is too. Brings out the John Wayne in me; makes me want to shout ‘Yihaaa!’ (I did, quite a lot, to the embarrassment of the kids). But round the corner is a lesser known but just as impressive valley, all the better because it’s deserted.

Eye of the Gods

Eye of the Gods

 

This is Mystery Valley, land of arches and Navajo ruins. It’s a gem. In fact it’s such a fantastic place for photographers that I don’t think I should be telling you about it. Forget that I’ve told you where it is, enjoy my pictures, and then never go there. Leave it to the Navajo ghosts (and to me, when I return with my tripod!)

 

Navajo lived here for 2000 years

Navajo lived here for 2000 years

 

Those indentations - that's where the Navajo put the ladder to get up to the hoodoo man's dwelling

Those indentations – that’s where the Navajo put the ladder to get up to the hoodoo man’s dwelling

 

This is truly a land of wide open spaces and dramatic rock formations. Awesome, in the true sense of a much overused word…

 

How wonderful that rock can do this!

How wonderful that rock can do this!

 

Totem Pole, back in Monument Valley

Totem Pole, back in Monument Valley

 

A dirt track leads out of the valley. Forget the car, I need my horse! And a stetson! YIHAAAAAA!!!!!

 

The way out

The way out.

 

 

 


10 responses to “Utah rocks!

Leave a Reply

