The Minster in all its glory

I grew up in York. Of course as a kid I didn’t see the beauty of the city, especially the Minster. It was just there. I think I only really began to see it when I left. And now, when I go back, I look more closely.

Minster view...

Minster view…

 

I’m going to do a project of photographing the Minster. Up close, inside and out. This is the first post – views from a little way away. Seeing it through the snickleways of the city.

Grape Lane

Grape Lane

 

I’ve also been having some fun with an old camera that I’ve converted to infra red. I like a subtle IR effect, not too over the top. You can just about tell from the foliage when it appears in these photos. Whiter than normal.

Medieval cobbles

Medieval cobbles

 

Chimney Street

Chimney Street

 

York looks absolutely stunning at the moment, especially early in the morning before everyone crowds the city. And the Minster is its crowning glory. The ancestors would be proud.

Minster at dawn

Minster at dawn

 

 

View from Petergate

View from Petergate

(By the way, one of these photos is a cheat, an odd one out. Can you tell which, and why?)


12 responses to “The Minster in all its glory

Leave a Reply

