Meditating on the Isle of Skye

Skye view

Skye view

I have a good friend who meditates. Every day, at least 40 mins. He empties his mind, lets his thoughts go. He says he can watch individual thoughts leave his body/mind and drift away. As a result he says he feels calmer, more grounded, less stressed, more happy. I’m rather envious…

A sea loch

A sea loch

In a way photography has a similar effect. Certainly landscape photography. Slow down, look, then really look, set up the tripod, get the camera out, look again, ponder, frame up, decide on exposure and only then trip the shutter. It’s a slow process and all the more meditative for it. There’s no point in hurrying, the photos will just be worse.

Isolation on Skye

Isolation on Skye

I started to learn this about 10 years ago when I did my first photographic workshop – 4 days on the Isle of Skye. There was just me and the tutor and all this expansive land, sea and sky-scape. The isolation helped slow everything down, empty the mind of the rat race in the big city. Hugely quiet and empty. There was just no-one there. Time and space to look and reflect.

Reflections

Reflections

This was the view of the loch just below my B&B. I watched a sea otter fish along these shallows (I’d just gone for a short stroll without my camera, how typical!). It was a big otter, at first I thought it was a dog in the water. Must have been a good 2-3 feet long. That’s one for the memory bank rather than the hard drive.

Classic Skye thatching

Classic Skye thatching

So I think landscape photography is a bit like meditation. Very inwardly focussing, rather solipsistic, even a bit selfish. That would certainly be the reaction of the rest of family (sighing and groaning if I show the slightest inclination to get the tripod out…I always ignore them). But not so easy to do on a day-to-day basis. Maybe I’m going to have to have a go at the real thing. I wonder if meditation might improve my photography? We shall see…

Skye - real isolation!

Skye – real isolation!


5 responses to “Meditating on the Isle of Skye

  • Snoeijen, Twan

    There is a real serenity that radiates from those pics Tom! Especially love the one with the red boat and the thatched roof house

    Really nice to have a blog like this and share your pics. How did you set this up? Can a simple Dutch guy do this to 😉

    Regards, Twan

    Sent from my iPhone

    Op 20 jul. 2013 om 23:47 heeft “Thomas Peck Photos” <comment-reply@wordpress.com> het volgende geschreven:

    thomas peck posted: ” I have a good friend who meditates. Every day, at least 40 mins. He empties his mind, lets his thoughts go. He says he can watch individual thoughts leave his body/mind and drift away. As a result he says he feels calmer, more grounded, less stressed,”

  • Laura Bloomsbury

    I’m often aware of how hurried and anxious my shots are which explains a lot. What an experience here – you’ve caught the tempo and the silence

  • Mike

    good set of photos, I am not sure why anyone goes abroad with countryside like this.

Leave a Reply

