Northumberland- a blast from the past!

Memory is serendipity. The last post was on Hogwarts, and that got me thinking to Alnwick castle, to Northumberland, where we went on holiday many years ago. And that brought memories flooding back. What a place! Big empty space – lots of room to breathe. I loved it.

Big, deserted, sands.

Bamburgh, big, deserted, sands.

This is where the family split themselves laughing as I got caught by a wave – a big one, soaked me, too intent on my Bronica to notice the tide; where the kids were scared to venture out in the open top boat until we got to the Farne Islands – surrounded by puffins in the air and seals in the water; and where we visited the Poison Garden in the castle, where every plant can kill you…

puffin on the run

puffin on the run

This place is wild & deserted, not so easy anymore in the UK. Sit on this bench and you can still imagine the Vikings storming the beach. Might not hang around for long if they did….!

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

My keenest memory is of dawn at Dunstanburgh castle. My first truly photographic moment. I knew the photo I wanted to take, and had got up early to catch it. And blow me down, there were two people on the beach already when I got there. The cheek! I marched up next to them, set up the tripod and claimed the spot. Then I started to recognise one of the interlopers. Bloody hell, I’d barged in on no other photographic guru than Joe Cornish, and I’d virtually shoved him out of the way….! Too late, the beach and the snap was mine.

Dunstanburgh, at dawn.

Dunstanburgh, at dawn.

(I’ve met Joe since. He doesn’t remember me, but I remember him…) Swiftly, I moved elsewhere…

Holy Island

Holy Island

But what of the family? They remember none of this. They remember running on beaches, laughing together. And these are surely the more important moments. They will mean nothing to anyone else, but they mean everything to me. Northumberland – fotos, fun and laughter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(My 101st post. Thanks for reading. Hope you’re enjoyed them. Tom)


7 responses to “Northumberland- a blast from the past!

Leave a Reply

