Mad business travel on a Thursday night

A five way conversation via Blackberry that sums up the madness of modern business lives.
 

Madridian hotel

 
 
Me, travelling home from Madrid (hence the pix). Woman 1, somewhere in central Europe, Woman 2 and 4 in London, Woman 3 on the Eurostar
 
 
From: Woman 1 to: Woman 2 and 3  and 4 and me
Still stuck in meeting, going on for ever!

From : me to : Woman1 and 2 and 3 and 4

I don’t believe it, I just emailed you as a joke to ask if you’d finished… I’m in the cab on the way home looking forward to a (lge) glass of wine avec ma femme who has spent the week in Singapore. We all live mad mad lives!

From: woman 1 To: me, woman 2 and 3 and 4

that we do – enjoy!

Lonely bed in a business hotel

From: woman 4 To: me, woman 1, 2 and 3

… I just got on the wrong bus, the only one on it and don’t know where I’m going!!!

From: me  To: woman 4, woman 1 and 2 and 3

Awesome! Maybe you need the wine more than me…

From: woman 3, To woman 1, 2, 4 and me

I toast you with all my bordeaux from the Eurostar! How did your preso go, or have you even got that far?

From me To woman 3, 4, 1 and 2

Done it. A success!. A most peculiar 5 way conversation this, i might have to blog on it…

From woman 3, To me. woman 1, 2 and 4

Actually, the question on the preso was to woman 1, not you, but glad yours went well too

From me, To woman 3, 1, 2, and 4

Classic!!!!!!!!!!!! (woman 1 seems to have ducked out of the conversation – probably powdering her nose…)

Lift lobby

From woman 3, to woman 1, 2, 4 and me

Despite it only being a 2.5 hour train journey and separated by merely a tunnel, how is the weather so much worse in the UK than France?

From woman 2 To woman 3, 1 and 4 and me

That’s the question I ask myself every single morning ….

From me, To woman 3, 1, 2 and 4

We make up for it by having a wicked sense of humour… 

From: woman 4 (still on a bus) To: me, woman 1, 2 and 3

I’d get off but I’ve been on a no carbs diet this week so don’t actually have the energy in my legs to stand!

Fixtures and fittings

From: me To: woman 1,2, 3 and 4

My wife just phoned me, having landed back from Singapore. “Where have I been?” “Madrid” I reply. “Oh, I thought you were in Munich?” “No, Madrid.” “Well, at least it begins with an M.” “Indeed.” A typical Peck conversation.

From: woman 3 To me, 1,2 and 4
Close enough for sure…
 
From: woman 1 To: woman 3, me; woman 4 and 2
I had the same discussion with hubby about Miami and Orlando all week last week
 
From: me, To: woman1, 2, 3, 4
At least they’re in the same country. We can’t even get that right!
 
From: woman1 To: me, woman 2, 3, 4.
I think I’ve won the race – clutching a g & t right now – Tom? 
 
From me, To woman 1, 2, 3 and 4
Woman 1 resurfaces! In an attempt to dodge traffic my taximan has gone via the backroads. Result – I’m completely lost. Could be in Timbuctoo (is that how you spell it?)
 
From: woman 2 To: me, woman 1, 3 and 4
It’s Timbuktu – haven’t you heard of spell check before… ?
 
From: me To: woman 2, 1, 3, and 4
!@+!?#####/!!! Spell check? Don’t make any grammatical mistakes in my presence for the next week. I will explode, apoplectically! (More likely to be woman 3 come to think of it…she’s an apostrophe abuser)
 
 

My Madrid view

 
 
From: woman 4, to woman 1, 2, 3 and me:
Apparently there’s a destination change on my bus… Which doesn’t bother me as I have no idea where I’m going anyway… Impromptu sightseeing of London whilst I look out for any tube station or friendly looking pub 😉
 
From: woman 1 To: woman 4, 2, 3 and me
Sounds quite relaxing that – just sit back and see where you end up ..
 
 
From: woman 4 To Woman 1, 2, 3, and me
Just boarded bus no 3… Now en route to ‘Snellington Palace’! Quite an adventure, but think I’ll pay more attention tomorrow! Have a good evening all!
 
From: me To: woman 1, 2, 3 and 4
 I’m arriving! HOME!!!
Pour me my drink and let me flop on the sofa.
Bberry about to be discarded. Thumbs can take a break. Normal mania will resume tomorrow.
Its been an honour conversing with you ladies. God bless…
 
 
From: woman 3 To: woman 2, me, womand 1 and 4
Made it back to London…just the tube home to go! Double jack and coke here I come!
 
From: woman 2 To: me, woman 1 2 and 4
Have a good evening all!
 
From: woman 1 To: me. woman 2, 3, 4
and to all a good night 😉 

One response to “Mad business travel on a Thursday night

Leave a Reply

