Shooting icons in New York

Two icons in one shot! Fifth Av, surely my wife’s favourite street in the world, and the Flatiron – one of my favourite buildings.

Classic Flatiron

So of course the only way I could find a free hour to shoot my icon was to send my wife (and kids) off to their icon. I trade retail therapy for photo therapy any day.

But how to shoot an icon differently?

The close up...

But I guess without pic 1, pic 2 would be hard to understand… What about this one?

Disguised Flatiron...

Or maybe fit a different lens and go for the unsettling shot:

Distorted Flatiron

Beware falling streetlights. Mmm…, ok, when all else fails then stick the camera out of the taxi window and go for the shaky, blurred, wonky, night shot. Aha, that’s different! And I like it!

My favourite!

Now, how do I extract my wife from whichever shop she’s currently hunting in…?


3 responses to “Shooting icons in New York

  • Anita Mac

    I agree – #2 may be a little out of context for anyone who doesn’t know – but I love the texture! Could be really cool in B&W too! Hope you were able to extract the wife and kids – although I am sure there are more icons to shoot!!!
    In preparation for an overseas trip, I have been doing some night photography practice (www.traveldestinationbucketlist.com/2011/11/06/travel-photography-at-night) – I bet NY would be a crazy great place to go for night photography! Have only been once – next time – I’m taking the camera! Have fun shopping, I mean shooting (LOL) out there!

  • Even the kids love Gaudi…! « Thomas Peck Photos

    […] you like this, check out Shooting icons in New York or Imperial Russia rides […]

Leave a Reply

